DataProtect Rollback

 

Never Fear a Failed Migration

If a migration ever fails, roll it back to the beginning using Swimage DataProtect Rollback.    When combined with the DataProtect Snapshot, the Rollback allows for the PC to be rolled back to the starting point in about 3 minutes.   This gives an additional safety-net when migrating to know that no matter what happens, you can always start over.

With the Swimage Data Protect Rollback, the PC can be completely restored no matter what caused the migration failure.  Worst case, you reset the PC back to the beginning and simply try again.

Migrate Quicker with a Rollback Safety Net :
  • Snapshot all systems to ensure you can roll back when desired
  • Snapshot takes about 3 minutes to perform
  • Rollback whenever needed, during or after the migration
  • Rollback takes about 3 minutes to perform

 

Requirements for the Snapshot

The Swimage DataProtect Snapshot is required in order to allow for the Rollback to take place. 

Regardless of the total size of the hard drive, the Snapshot can occur as long as there is 35 GB to 50 GB of free space on the drive. 

The Rollback process can be initiated over the network or off of the Swimage Migration Kit for remote migrations.

How it Works

The Rollback process takes about 3 minutes to complete.   It’s basically reversing the Snapshot and restores all files to their original places on the drive. 

If the drive is encrypted, the Encryption Handler will execute in order for the drive to be able to roll back properly and keep all files encrypted.

The Rollback process takes about 3 minutes to complete.   It’s basically reversing the Snapshot and restores all files to their original places on the drive.
 
If the drive is encrypted, the Encryption Handler will execute in order for the drive to be able to roll back properly and keep all files encrypted.